NONPROFIT TIMES LISTS TOP 50 AGENCIES TO WORK FOR IN 2013


JamesProfile1By James D’Ambrosio

The Nonprofit Times, a leading business publication for nonprofit management, recently published a list of the top 50 nonprofits to work for in 2013. Best Companies Group (BCG) of Harrisburg, PA, conducted a survey and developed rankings in conjunction with The Nonprofit Times. Agencies participating in the survey provided information on workplace topics such as benefits and employment practices.

SURVEY CONTENT — WHAT WAS MEASURED

Employees completed a confidential survey with statements they were asked to agree or disagree with. There were eight   categories: 1) Leadership and Planning; 2) Corporate Culture & Communications; 3) Role Satisfaction 4) Work Environment; 5) Relationship with Supervisor; 6) Training and Development; 7) Pay and Benefits; and 8) Overall Employee Engagement.

The average score for all participating nonprofits was an 85 percent favorable rating; those making the Best Workplaces List averaged 89 percent. So, to be fair, there’s certainly many other well-run agencies not appearing on this list. That said, here are the results:

NONPROFIT TIMES’ TOP 50 NONPROFITS TO WORK FOR IN 2013

1) Wounded Warrior Project  (Jacksonville, FL) www.woundedwarriorproject.org

2) SightLife (Seattle, WA) www.sightlife.org/about

3) AHC, Inc. (Arlington, VA) www.ahcinc.org

4) New Jersey Society of CPA’s (Roseland, NJ) www.njscpa.org

5) Partnership for Public Service (Washington, DC) www.ourpublicservice.org

6) The Ctr for Effective Philanthropy (Cambridge, MA) www.effectivephilanthropy.org

7) Community Legal Services of Mid-Florida  (Daytona Beach, FL) www.clsmf.org

8Brighton Center (San Antonio, TX) ww.brightonsa.org

9) Alzheimer’s Association  (Chicago, IL)  www.alz.org/illinois

10) The Nat’l Society of Collegiate Scholars  (Washington, DC)  www.nscs.org

11) DoSomething.org (New York, NY)  www.dosomething.org

12) Arts Midwest  (Minneapolis, MN) www.artsmidwest.org

13) Better Business Bureau  (Austin, TX) www.houston.bbb.org

14) The Legal Aid Soc., District of Columbia (Wash, DC) www.legalaiddc.org

15) National Industries for the Blind (Alexandria, VA) www.nib.org

16) Children’s Law Center  (Washington, DC) www.childrenslawcenter.org

17) Natural Resources Defense Council (Chicago, IL) www.nrdc.org/chicago.asp

18) Earth Force  (Denver, CO) www.earthforce.org/DenverCO

19) The LIVESTRONG Foundation  (Austin, TX)  www.livestrong.org

20) Jumpstart for Young Children  (Boston, MA) www.jstart.org

21) Harlem RBI  (New York, NY)  www.harlemrbi.org

22) NOLS (Lander, WY) www.nols.edu

23) Career Path Services (Spokane, WA) www.careerpathservices.org

24) Big Brothers Big Sisters – Midlands (Omaha, NE)  www.bbbsomaha.org

25) PENCIL, Inc. (New York, NY)  www.pencil.org

26) Emerge! Ctr Against Domestic Abuse  (Tucson, AZ) www.emergecenter.org

27) Comm. Food Bank – Southern Arizona  (Tucson, AZ) communityfoodbank.com

28) Pathway Homes, Inc.  (Fairfax, VA) www.pathwayhomes.org

29) NeedyMeds, Inc.  (Gloucester, MA)  www.needymeds.org

30) Make-A-Wish Illinois  (Chicago, IL) www.wishes.org

31) American Heart Association (Dallas, TX) www.heart.org/dallas

32) Military Officers Assoc. of America  (Alexandria, VA) www.moaa.org

33) Caring Voice Coalition, Inc. (Mechanicsville, VA)  www.caringvoice.org

34) Human Rights Campaign (Washington, DC) www.hrc.org

35) The NY Stem Cell Foundation (New York, NY) www.nyscf.org

36) Aspell Recovery Center (Jackson, TN) www.aspellrecovery.com

37) Year Up (San Francisco, CA) www.yearup.org

38) Summer Search (San Francisco, CA) www.summersearch.org/sanfrancisco

39) Cross-Cultural Solutions (New Rochelle, NY) www.crossculturalsolutions.org

40) Dogs for the Deaf, Inc. (Central Point, OR)  www.dogsforthedeaf.org

41)  PRS, Inc. (McLean, VA) www.prsinc.org

42) PENCIL Foundation  (Nashville, TN) www.pencilfoundation.org

43) Silicon Valley Comm. Fdn. (Mountain View, CA) www.siliconvalleycf.org

44) Kessler Foundation  (West Orange, NJ) www.kesslerfoundation.org

45) Kaboom!  (Washington, DC) www.kaboom.org

46) American Councils for Int’l Education (Wash, DC)  www.americancouncils.org

47) iMentor (New York, NY) www.imentor.org

48) The Mission Continues  (New York, NY) www.missioncontinues.org

49) National Communication Assoc.  (Washington, DC) www.natcom.org

50) Masonic Homes – Kentucky (Masonic Home, KY) www.masonichomesky.com

____________________________________________________________________________________

QUESTION TO READERS:

A) Have you been involved with any of these agencies? If so, what stands out?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: